1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

It's my husband's fault

Discussion in 'How I got started in Family History' started by Heather, Aug 14, 2014.

1. Heather

Heather LostCousins Member

Hi my name is Heather and I have been researching my family history for many years. I wasn't really interested in starting as I didn't have much information to go on, only knowing my grandmothers' names, both my grandfathers dying before I was born and my parents were both deceased as well, so no-one to ask for details. The well worn phrase that I am sure many of us have used springs to mind, "If only I had asked about the family whilst they were still alive"

My husband started to research his family history and I would try to help him, then I was bitten by the bug and have been addicted ever since. I am still finding new things out about the family as more and more information is posted on the internet, when I started there wasn't a great deal online, but now it is amazing what and where information comes from, yes there are many brick walls but it is such fun when the wall comes tumbling down. :D

• Agree Agree x 3
  2. AndyMick

AndyMick LostCousins Star

When I ask my uncle about family, all I ever get is "you should have asked your mother" - about 20 years too late for that!

Fun? Just wait till it becomes an obsession :D

• Agree Agree x 4
  3. Pauline

Pauline LostCousins Megastar