1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

Should this shared match be treated as a genuine link?

Discussion in 'DNA Questions and Answers' started by lesear, Aug 6, 2020.

1. lesear

lesear LostCousins Member

First of all, thank you for accepting my invitation to join the forum. I am new to this but will do my best to follow the correct procedures.

Since obtaining my Ancestry DNA results about 18 months ago I have been slowly plodding through all my connections, colour coding into four main groups but with several small groupings which so far I have been unable to find a link to my trees. I have worked my way down to 11 cM. My main groups and numbers are :

Father : paternal - 241 (in case of queries, I posted here in error trying to tab)
    Father : maternal - 116

Mother : paternal - 58
    Mother : maternal - 81

However, the exception is a large unknown group of 219 shared matches (my blue group). This consists so far of about 40 fourth cousins ranging from 27 cM. They are all in the USA and very few have manageable trees - if trees exist at all they are in the thousands. I have tried to contact a couple but no reply.