1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

Name changes, before and at marriages

Discussion in 'Digital records' started by LynneB, May 27, 2015.

1. LynneB

LynneB LostCousins Member

I have been researching my family history on and off for five years. In that time, I have recorded women by their maiden names and, when merging information on FTM, have ignored their married names.

However, I have a couple of female relatives who were given one name at birth and married with a different name. For instance, one of my great-grandmothers was born out of wedlock and is listed on her birth certificate as Jessie Rice (her mother's maiden name). By the time Jessie married, her mother was living in a de facto relationship with a man (who may be Jessie's father) and it is his name on the marriage certificate where she is listed as Jessie Matthews. She is buried as Jessie Loder, her married name.

Her brother also went from Ernest Rice to Ernest Matthews.

It seems obvious to me now that I should probably include all names in my recording of information -- but one learns by experience!

With 2000+ names on my family tree, I am now wondering whether I should go back and give all the married women both their maiden and married names. What do other family historians do?

2. Alexander Bisset

Alexander Bisset Administrator Staff Member