1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

Can Autosomal DNA solve this puzzle?

Discussion in 'DNA Questions and Answers' started by AndyMick, Jun 8, 2015.

1. AndyMick

AndyMick LostCousins Star

A friend of mine has asked me for help/advice. I've had YDNA and mtDMA tests but I've no experience of Autosomal atDNA. He is aware of family rumours that his father may not be his biological father and seeks to clarify the rumours. He has not been able to find any male paternal cousins who would be able to do a YDNA test. So he is considering atDNA testing with one of his niblings (his sister's children). They would share any DNA from his mother (their grandmother) and would either share or not share DNA from his father. Now on average we inherit 25% of our DNA from our grandparents, so he should see either 50% match or 25% match depending whether his biological father is the same as his sisters. But 25% is only an average. Would it be a clear-cut result, or is he likely to get a result of something like a 37% match, which would be very confusing? Any help/advice welcome.

2. peter

peter Administrator Staff Member

I'm afraid there is no simple answer - there are some statistics on the range of results but to me they look highly suspect (see this ISOGG page for more).