1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

Ancestry Sideview Ethnicity Results - How Accurate?

Discussion in 'DNA Questions and Answers' started by CliveR, Jun 4, 2023.

1. CliveR

CliveR LostCousins Member

I am interested to find out how accurate people think Ancestry's Sideview is, particularly with regard to ethnicity estimates. Is it to be taken with a pinch of salt?

While I am no DNA expert, I find Sideview's separation of paternal and maternal ethnicities rather hard to believe from a common-sense point-of-view.

Let me first say that in researching my family tree, I have found that my mother's ancestors and father's ancestors come from roughly the same region of the UK, mostly in the North West of England:

Paternal ancestors: Cheshire, South Lancashire and Shropshire
    Maternal ancestors: Cheshire, South Lancashire and Northern Ireland

I'd say that my maternal family is more biased towards South Lancashire than my paternal family, which is more Cheshire-oriented.

My overall ethnicity results appear to be very typically English, but it is their separation to paternal and maternal by Sideview that concerns me.

Scotland