1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

Ancestry Frustration

Discussion in 'Ancestry' started by Winksetter, Sep 3, 2023.

1. Winksetter

Winksetter LostCousins Member

Every now and again I lose patience with using Ancestry for DNA driven genealogy research. I have been researching for well over 20 years now looking for real family origins of various lines of my family. I must say that very little of this has been achieved with Ancestry although I like it and use it regularly and do not want to be without it but…..as a standalone tool it is less useful for researching tricky cases where the CM levels are low.
    The frustration starts with the cut off for showing any DNA match, for showing shared matches (ridiculous), showing matching segments (so what), for refusing to show detailed match segment data. Quite apart from the pretty useless parentage information given.
    I use Ancestry but always hope that I will find someone on another site who matches to the lines I am researching. This may in any case be true if they come for a lot of the world where Ancestry are not well represented.
    Enough for now, but I cannot promise to go away forever!

2. peter

peter Administrator Staff Member

I've been using DNA since 2012, and have taken every test with every major provider, but I get far better results from Ancestry than from all the others combined - and for far less effort,.