1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

LIES, COINCIDENCES AND A TANGLED WEB

Discussion in 'General Genealogical Queries' started by Welshlass, Nov 1, 2023.

1. Welshlass

Welshlass Member

Help please. I am an experienced researcher but through someone who believed he was a DNA match to my husband (since disproved) I have found a challenge that's got me beat! (I'd still like to help him though).
    S's grandmother M claims that she was born on 26 Dec 1945 in Reading - no birth reg or baptism found in any of the several names she has used in Reading or elsewhere in England & Wales. S says she has a Welsh accent.
    She has been married twice, both in Scotland, but the 2nd probably bigamously, + another relationship that produced a child.
    The 1st marriage was 1964 in Thurso to James HIDES (I have the cert) - she recorded her parents as Cliff ROWLES, a scientist, and Doreen ROWLES nee BENNETT.

FACT: Doreen BENNETT is my husband's birth mother, gave him up for adoption, and later married Clifford H. ROWLES in 1954 in Pontypool, Mon (they were both local to that area). They had no children. Clifford was previously married to (May) Florence HAILS - they had no known children.

M had 3 sons with James HIDES in 1964, 1965 and 1967 in Sheffield. My contact S is the son of the youngest son.