1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

Digital collections & missing registers

Discussion in 'Comments on the latest newsletter' started by Pauline, Sep 15, 2020.

1. Pauline

Pauline LostCousins Megastar

It was good to see this issue raised in the latest newsletter, as it's something I've been querying and reporting for many years now - to almost no effect, I might add.

As well as fully or partly missing registers, there are also occasions when the transcriptions are missing or incomplete, though this is rarely made clear in the collection details.

People have come to expect that they can research their ancestry with simple online searches, and missing registers and transcriptions can all too easily lead unsuspecting researchers into following up the wrong family.

And, of course, we are paying subscriptions to the various sites with the expectation that their advertised collections are as complete as they can be.

2. peter

peter Administrator Staff Member

Let's hope that so many researchers contact the relevant record offices that they will be forced to take action.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Pauline

Pauline LostCousins Megastar