1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

August 2022 Ancestry Ethnicity Update

Discussion in 'DNA Questions and Answers' started by MazH, Aug 18, 2022.

1. MazH

MazH LostCousins Member

What do members think of their latest ethnicity update from Ancestry? I have been researching since 1986 and all of my known ancestry is in the English midlands. I have no doubt that I have some untraced Welsh ancestry. Last year Ancestry gave me a substantial percentage of Scottish ethnicity on my mother's side, and now they have reduced my English ethnicity to less than 50% and are giving me Scottish on both sides, plush Irish and Swedish/Danish. Are their estimates actually getting worse for British people?

2. peter

peter Administrator Staff Member

Mine is significantly more accurate than the previous version (though not as accurate as it was a few years ago). My Irish component has doubled from 2% to 4%, which is much more realistic, and my Scottish component has gone from 14% to 9% - though I have no known ancestors from the north of England, let alone Scotland.

The estimates for my wife and mother-in-law have also improved.

Because of the way that DNA is inherited, we shouldn't expect the ethnicity estimates to match what we know - there are bound to be differences.

3. MazH

MazH LostCousins Member