1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Only registered members can see all the forums - if you've received an invitation to join (it'll be on your My Summary page) please register NOW!

3. If you're looking for the LostCousins site please click the logo in the top left corner - these forums are for existing LostCousins members only.
  4. This is the LostCousins Forum. If you were looking for the LostCousins website simply click the logo at the top left.
  5. It's easier than ever before to check your entries from the 1881 Census - more details here

Changing To Another Program

Discussion in 'General discussion' started by GrahamC, Jan 9, 2020.

1. GrahamC

GrahamC LostCousins Member

I have been using Brother's Keeper for over 20 years. I think I started with version 3 or thereabouts. Now on v.7, I am basically happy with it and accustomed to it's idiosyncrasies. But I am concerned that one day soon it will no longer be practical to use it for one reason or another.

I have been using a Mac for a few years and now run Bros. Keeper 7 in a Windows virtual machine so I am not restricted by operating system. Over the years I have tried exporting my data to other programs. I've tried FTM, Heridis, Gramps, Reunion on Windows and Mac and others I can't remember. The problem in each case seems to be in displaying or printing data because things like notes, references etc. don't always come out the way I want or where I want. This is exacerbated by the fact that I have entered some data in fields or formats different from what the programmer intended.

I end up getting frustrated and end up going back to BK. Can anyone relate to this problem or suggest a way around it?

2. Bob Spiers

Bob Spiers LostCousins Superstar